My Road to Recovery: Part 4

After the longest 13 weeks of my life, I am finally walking again with no assistance.  No crutches, no cam boot….nothing.  Just my left shoe and a tight, painful ankle! SMH!  I have been rehabbing, but probably not as much or as hard as I should be.  I just basically have muscle tightness right now, specifically for not using them so long.  I have to stretch them back out and keep doing the positive things to treat myself.

Just for the record, this was a 6-8 week healing process that I managed to drag out 13-14 weeks.  How, you ask??!?!!  Simply because I was(am) hard-headed and have some sort of life that needs to be taken care of everyday.  I could not just sit in the house all day everyday with my leg up in the air.  I did it for well over a month, but the swelling would not go away.  I started walking in just the cam boot and got rid of the crutches and it started to feel a little better, but the swelling still would come.  I’m out of the cam boot now and the swelling still is here and I’m just barely able to get my foot into my shoe because of it.

Oh well, ice and warm compresses when I’m not doing anything is gonna have to fix the rest of my situation, as well as my pool therapy that has helped so immensely.  I will be back in the gym tomorrow working on my ankle and starting the process of getting my body back to the form I want it.  I’m naturally around 185 pounds, but after I hurt my shoulder at work last year I began to sit around getting lazy and not working out in the gym, for good reason.  I grew to 208 pounds in that time off and once I got back in to the gym I dropped down to 203 pounds in only 8 days.

From the day of my injury until today I grew to 213 pounds and I don’t like it too much…..must have been that depressed I can’t walk beer I’ve been drinking.  No more, no more…..gotta get out of that mindset and get back to work.  Swimming and pool therapy with some crunches and light weight-lifting until I can begin running again and then I am gonna get back to about 190 pounds.  I think that will be a solid weight for me at this point in time.  I don’t want to get too skinny, I have to keep some of my muscle there for the public to see! LOL!

Anyway, I’m signing off of this for now.  Part 5 of my Road to Recovery will be published when I’m fully healthy and running around on the basketball courts again.  Stay tuned and thanks for checking out my blog!

About Daniel Trawick

My name is Daniel Trawick. I was born and raised in Philadelphia, PA, but spent a few years in Willingboro, NJ. During my youth years I played basketball, football, baseball, soccer, ran track and field, and was a high ranked chess player. I am now a freelance writer and blogger. I write for A-Game Magazine (agamemagazine.com), Sports Rantz Magazine (sportsrantz.com/rantz) as well as contribute to Yahoo. You can also follow me on twitter @TheSportsHound.

Posted on June 18, 2012, in NBA, NCAA, NFL, Philadelphia Sports, Swimming, Track & Field and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment