Road to Recovery: Part 2

Tuesday, April 24th marked my 6 week anniversary of breaking my ankle.  The doctors gave me a 6-8 week window when I should be healed and healthy enough to walk again.  I am obviously behind schedule a bit, because I am still experiencing pain as well as swelling.  Not to mention I still cannot move my ankle to a straight position to even attempt to stand.  This is really starting to drive me crazy.  One good thing is that I can put some pressure on my foot, but only on my toes.

I feel impatience setting in on my spirit and I’m just so ready to start walking again.  I am out of my comfort zone, because I’m so used to being active either playing with my children, playing basketball, working out, or just going places.  I feel like I’m letting my kids down since the past month and a half I haven’t been able to take them to the playground, ride their bikes with them and the worst thing……no Chuck E. Cheese.  It’s just not as easy as it once was to keep up with my little bundles of energy.  I just can’t deal with the mental and emotional pain, especially since I still have physical pain (even though I was told by professionals that after 3 weeks I shouldn’t have any pain).

In Week 7, I am going to take a more proactive mode.  I don’t want to make anything worse, but I was told pool therapy is one of the best methods for recovering.  Therefore, I will get back in the gym next week and start swimming to regain some strength in my entire leg and work on getting back some sort of flexibility.  I am also going to do wind sprints in the water as well.  LOL!  I’m at the point where anything can help and it can’t get any worse.  I just can’t do it anymore.  I also refuse to hit the beach this summer with one super muscular leg and one puny one…..definitely not a good look at all.

Please keep me in your prayers guys, for I not only want to walk, but I just really want to play with my kids.  That is the hardest part of this entire situation.  Also, if anyone has any suggestions on methods of therapy to help the process, I am all ears.  Thank you……now back to the NFL Draft and NBA Playoffs.

About Daniel Trawick

My name is Daniel Trawick. I was born and raised in Philadelphia, PA, but spent a few years in Willingboro, NJ. During my youth years I played basketball, football, baseball, soccer, ran track and field, and was a high ranked chess player. I am now a freelance writer and blogger. I write for A-Game Magazine (agamemagazine.com), Sports Rantz Magazine (sportsrantz.com/rantz) as well as contribute to Yahoo. You can also follow me on twitter @TheSportsHound.

Posted on April 27, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment